GGB is committed to providing updated news and analysis on our weekly news site,

NCRG Now the International Center for Responsible Gaming

NCRG Now the International Center for Responsible Gaming

The National Center for Responsible Gaming (NCRG) has a new name that reflects its broader influence. In February, it announced its new name: the International Center for Responsible Gaming (ICRG).

“The globalization of the work and mission of the ICRG will continue to develop the finest research and educational programs, aimed at reducing gambling-related harms worldwide,” said ICRG Board Chairman Alan Feldman.

Since 1996, the center has created a rigorous field of study of gambling disorder and responsible gaming. It is designed to further the mission of helping individuals and families affected by gambling disorder through scientific research and evidence-based educational programming.

ICRG-funded research has yielded more than 400 peer-reviewed publications, and has been cited more than 25,000 times in the scientific literature.

The ICRG’s most recent initiative is the Sports Wagering Research Fund, supported by the American Gaming Association, MGM Resorts International, William Hill US, GVC Holdings PLC, NASCAR, Hard Rock International, the PGA and IGT.

    Recent Feature Articles

  • Live! Performance

    Cordish Companies perseveres through the Covid-19 crisis to open two Pennsylvania properties in a year

  • First Do No Harm

    Digital gambling payment methods and harm minimization policy considerations

  • Better Safe Than Sorry

    Cashless payments have great promise as a deterrent to problem gambling, but could also exacerbate some issues

  • Going Live

    Live-dealer online games saw a spike in popularity during the shutdown, but they were headed that way before the pandemic. Here’s why.

  • The Return of the Roaring ’20s

    As the world recovers from Covid-19, the stage is set for a comeback; will Vegas lead the charge?